Dakar finishes and Toyota Gazoo gets two podiums!

Grit gets all SA drivers & riders to the finish

One of the most entertaining automotive events has come to a close today in Argentina where the Dakar 2018 winners celebrated their triumph in the words most gruelling and unforgiving race.

The Golden Boy, Carlos Sainz, celebrated his second Dakar win in Cordoba with Peugeot celebrating their third win in a row. The king of the bikes was KTM’s Matthias Walkner, celebrating the manufacturers’ seventeenth successive motorcycle race.

Local boy, Giniel de Villiers, won the battle for third against Stephane Peterhansel, while Toyota’s Nasser Al-Attiyah stole second overall. Mini’s Jakub Przygonski and Peugeot’s Sheikh Al-Qassimi finished fifth and sixth respectively. Hennie de Klerk and Gerhard Schutte commanded their Amarok to the finish line, clenching their rookie honours in the process. All 7 South Africans who started the Dakar rally finished the race.

Honda’s Kevin Benavides was the first to cross the line on the final bike stage, securing the second overall spot while Toby Price of KTM fought to win third overall. Overall winner Matthias Walkner benefited from the progress he made earlier in the week to win his first Dakar.

Yamaha’s Ignacio Casale celebrated his second Dakar four-wheeler win, while Eduard Nikolaev secured his win in the truck category.


Leave a Reply